Monday, 6th December 2010

Fluminense have won the 2010 Brasileirao title after winning their last game yesterday against Guarani (1-0). In a race which went right down to the wire Cruzeiro finished second, with 69 points – just two behind Fluminense’s 71 – and Corinthians took third with 68 points. While Cruzeiro won their final game (2-1 against Palmeiras), Corinthians could only draw theirs (1-1 away to Goias).

The title is only Fluminense’s second, the first having been won in 1984, meaning a long wait of 26 years had to be endured by the club’s faithful. For coach Muricy Ramalho however, 2010’s Brasileirao was his fourth, after previously winning the trophy on three occasions with Sao Paulo.

Scorer of the winning goal, Emerson, was overjoyed and pointed at how much the title win means to the club’s fans. "It’s very difficult to explain", he said, "the fans deserve so much. It’s been 26 years, not 26 months or 26 weeks."


Latest Features: