Monday, 7th January, 2013

Only players from Spain’s La Liga have been selected in FIFA’s World Team of the Year, at the organisation’s annual awards ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland.

Spanish football has dominated the night, with Lionel Messi scooping his fourth consecutive Ballon d’Or.

Players from Barcelona and Real Madrid have made up the FIFA World Team of the Year, with only one exception – Atletico Madrid striker Radamel Falcao.

2012 FIFA World Team of the Year

Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
Dani Alves (Barcelona)
Gerard Pique (Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Marcelo (Real Madrid)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid)
Xavi (Barcelona)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Radamel Falcao (Atletico Madrid)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Like betting on football? You’ll want to check out Inside Bet.